And the winner is…

This year’s awards cover the 18-month period from January 1, 2014, to June 30, 2015. A new policy to evaluate productions by theatrical season (from July to June) rather than by calendar year came into effect on July 1, and the evaluation period was extended to accommodate the transition. During this period, 16 French-language productions and 66 English-language productions were evaluated by two groups of performing arts professionals in the national capital region. The selections were submitted by secret ballot to two independent accountants – the French to Marcil Lavallée and the English to Financial MSH – who were responsible for calculating the results.

A crowd of approximately 175 members of Ottawa-Gatineau’s English and French theatrical circles (the number of reservations confirmed at the time this email was sent) gathered Sunday night in the Maison du Citoyen in Gatineau to see the prizes awarded and to launch the new theatre season.

The Prix Rideau Awards would like to thank its partners:

Mensour Agency

Canadian Actors Equity Association

AOE Arts Council

Department of Theatre, University of Ottawa

Epicuria Catering

Ottawa Fringe Festival

Marcil Lavallée, Chartered Accountants

MSH Financial, Chartered Accountants

City of Ottawa

City of Gatineau

For further information, please contact:

Kyle Ahluwalia (Interim President) –

Joël Beddows (Past President) –


Outstanding Production

Re :Union by Sean Devine (Horseshoes & Hand Grenades)

Outstanding New Work

The Elephant Girls by Margo MacDonald

Outstanding Director

Mary Ellis (The Elephant Girls, Parry Riposte Productions)

Outstanding Performance, Male

Tim Oberholzer (Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Vanity Project)

Outstanding Performance, Female

Margo MacDonald (The Elephant Girls, Parry Riposte Productions)

Outstanding Designs

Seth Gerry, Lighting (Happiness, May Can Theatre)

John Webber, Set and Lighting Design (Re: Union, Horseshoes & Hand Grenades)

Emerging Artist

Alanna Bale, Actor

Behind the Rideau

Tim Oberholzer


Production de l’année

À toi, pour toujours, ta Marie-Lou, Théâtre de l’île

Nouvelle création de l’année

Fucking Carl de Caroline Yergeau et Louis Philippe Roy

Mise en scène de l’année

Kira Ehlers (À toi, pour toujours, ta Marie-Lou, Théâtre de l’île)

Interprétation féminine de l’année

Andrée Rainville (Cinéma, Théâtre la Catapulte et Théâtre Belvédère)

Interprétation masculine de l’année

Richard Bénard (À toi, pour toujours, ta Marie-Lou, Théâtre de l’île)

Conceptions de l’année

Christian Fontaine, décor (Quand la mer, Théâtre de la Vieille 17)

Benoît Brunet-Poirier et Marie Pierre Proulx, scénographie-vidéo (Cinéma, Théâtre la Catapulte et le Théâtre Belvédère)

Prix ‘Artiste en émergence’

Marie-Ève Fontaine, comédienne