For immediate release – Ottawa, January 17, 2012

Happy New Year on behalf of the Prix Rideau Awards! A new consideration year has begun and with it comes changes to our award terms and criteria and to our Steering Committee.

After collecting feedback and conducting an extensive review, the members of the Prix Rideau Steering Committee voted to remove both the Outstanding Adaptation and the Outstanding Fringe Production award categories. Beginning January 1, 2012, there are 8 award categories in both the English and French award programs. The categories are as follows:

  • Outstanding Production
  • Outstanding Direction
  • Outstanding Performance – Female
  • Outstanding Performance – Male
  • Outstanding Design (two awards are handed out in this category)
  • Outstanding New Creation
  • Emerging Artist Award
  • Behind le Rideau Award

The full version of the revised terms and criteria can be found on our website: The changes that have been made affect the 2012 consideration year, which means that they will be reflected during the 2013 awards gala.

The Prix Rideau Awards would like to extend a most sincere thank you to Patrick Gauthier, Lisa L’Heureux and Yves Turbide for their contributions to the organization as Steering Committee members. And we wish to welcome Chantal Hayman as our new English Jury Chair, Élise Gauthier as our Communications Coordinator and Fanny Collet as our Francophone Co-Chair.

Founded in 2006 to celebrate, encourage and promote French and English locally produced professional theatre and its artists; 2012 marks the seventh year of operations for the Prix Rideau Awards. Nominations from the 2011 consideration year will be announced on February 27, 2012 during a 5 à 7 at Le Petit Chicago in Gatineau (Hull), with the sixth annual awards gala taking place on April 22, at the Shenkman Arts Centre.

For general information:

Les Prix Rideau Awards

C.P. 1087, Station B

Ottawa (Ontario), K1P 5R1


Alain Chauvin, Communications