For immediate release – Ottawa, September 1st, 2015

Founded in 2006 to celebrate, encourage and promote French and English locally produced professional theatre work and its artists, the Prix Rideau Awards is proud to announce the nominees for the period of January 1st 2014 to June 30, 2015.

During the above-mentioned period, two teams of local arts professionals juried 66 English productions and 16 French language productions. Nominations were submitted by secret ballot and tallied by independent accountants.

The Prix Rideau Awards will be handed out on Sunday, September 27, 2015, at la Maison du Citoyen in Gatineau. Tickets are on sale now

The nominees for English-language productions are:

Outstanding Production

Re :Union by Sean Devine (Horseshoes & Hand Grenades)
Happiness by Tony Adams, Madeleine Boyes-Manseau and Cory Thibert (May Can Theatre)
Wolf Child by Emily Pearlman and Nick Di Gaetano (Mi Casa Theatre)
The Elephant Girls by Margo MacDonald (Parry Riposte Productions)
Hedwig and the Angry Inch by John Cameron Mitchell and Stephen Trask (Vanity Project)

Outstanding New Work

Corpus by Darrah Teitel
Young Lady in White by Dominick Parenteau-Lebeuf
Wolf Child by Emily Pearlman and Nick Di Gaetano
The Elephant Girls by Margo MacDonald
The Tashme Project by Julie Tamiko Manning and Matt Miwa

Outstanding Director

Madeleine Boyes-Manseau (Happiness, May Can Theatre)
Stewart Mathews (Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Vanity Project)
Sean Devine and John Langs (Re:Union, Horseshoes & Hand Grenades)
Mary Ellis (The Elephant Girls, Parry Riposte Productions)
Ian Farthing, Two Gentleman of Verona, St. Lawrence Shakespeare

Outstanding Performance, Male

Paul Rainville (The Burden of Self Awareness, GCTC)
Andrew Wheeler (Re:Union, Horseshoes & Hand Grenades)
Brad Long (Re:Union, Horseshoes & Hand Grenades)
Cory Thibert (Happiness, May Can Theatre)
Tim Oberholzer (Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Vanity Project)

Outstanding Performance, Female

Alexa Devine (Re:Union, Horseshoes & Hand Grenades)
Chandel Gambles (Venus in Fur, Plosive Productions)
Carolyn Hetherington (Woman Who Shout at the Stars, Goombay Productions)
Catriona Leger (Young Lady in White, Evolution Theatre)
Margo MacDonald (The Elephant Girls, Parry Riposte Productions)

Outstanding Design

Martin Conboy (Set and Lighting, Burden of Self Awareness, GCTC)
John Doucet (Set Design, Pomme and Restes: Shipwrecked!, Company of Fools)
Seth Gerry, Happiness (Lighting, May Can Theatre)
Vanessa Imeson (Costumes, Two Gentlemen of Verona, St. Lawrence Shakespeare)
John Webber (Set and Lighting Design, Re:Union, Horseshoes & Hand Grenades)

Emerging Artist

Alanna Bale, Actor
Alessia Lupiano, Actor
Alexis Scott, Actor
Andrea Steinwand, Set Designer
Alex Zabloski, Musician

Behind the Rideau

In deliberation.

The nominees for French-language productions are:

Production de l’année

À toi, pour toujours, ta Marie-Lou de Michel Tremblay, Théâtre de l’île
Cinéma de Mishka Lavigne, Théâtre la Catapulte et Théâtre Belvédère
Ciseaux de Lisa L’Heureux, Théâtre Rouge Écarlate
Fucking Carl de Louis-Philippe Roy et Caroline Yergeau, Théâtre 4.669
Quand la mer d’Esther Beauchemin, Théâtre de la Ville 17, Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario (Sudbury) et Sortie de secours (Québec)

Nouvelle création de l’année

Cinéma de Mishka Lavigne
Ciseaux de Lisa L’Heureux
La Fille d’argile de Michel Ouellette
Fucking Carl de Louis-Philippe Roy et Caroline Yergeau,
Pour l’hiver de Lisa L’Heureux

Mise en scène de l’année

Kira Ehlers (À toi pour toujours ta Marie-Lou)
Lisa L’Heureux (Ciseaux)
Kevin Orr (Fucking Carl)
Philippe Soldevila (Quand la mer)
Caroline Yergeau (Cinéma)

Interprétation féminine de l’année

Marie-Ève Fontaine (Ciseaux)
Élise Gauthier (À la recherche des escargots)
Andrée Rainville (Cinéma)
Frédérique Thérien (À toi, pour toujours, ta Marie-Lou)
Caroline Yergeau (Fucking Carl)

Interprétation masculine de l’année

Richard Bénard (À toi, pour toujours, ta Marie-Lou)
Roch Castonguay (Petites bûches)
Roch Castonguay (Quand la mer)
Nicolas Desfossés (Cinéma)
Louis-Philippe Roy (Fucking Carl)

Conception de l’année

Marie-Pierre Proulx et Benoît Brunet-Poirier (Vidéo) Cinéma
Mathieu Charette (Éclairages) À toi, pour toujours, ta Marie-Lou
Christian Fontaine (Décors) Quand la mer
Élise Gauthier (Écriture scénique)  L’Araignée
Marianne Thériault (Costumes) Quand la mer

Prix ‘Artiste en émergence’

Jasmine Delage
Marie-Ève Fontaine
Venessa Lachance
Mishka Lavigne
Louis-Philippe Roy

For general information:

Les Prix Rideau Awards

C.P. 1087, Station B

Ottawa (Ontario), K1P 5R1


Élise Gauthier, Communications Coordinator